Mark Tucker : Journal

Living Buddha, Living Christ

Posted in Buddhism by marktucker on September 4, 2013

(Excerpt from Living Buddha, Living Christ. I read this on my phone, on the train, in the mornings. Sets the day. -MT)

Mindful Consuming:

5. Aware of the suffering caused by unmindful consumption, I vow to cultivate good health, both physical and mental, for myself, my family, and my society by practicing mindful eating, drinking, and consuming. I vow to ingest only items that preserve peace, well-being, and joy in my body, in my consciousness, and in the collective body and consciousness of my family and society. I am determined not to use alcohol or any other intoxicant or to ingest foods or other items that contain toxins, such as certain TV programs, magazines, books, films, and conversations. I am aware that to damage my body or my consciousness with these poisons is to betray my ancestors, my parents, my society, and future generations. I will work to transform violence, fear, anger, and confusion in myself and in society by practicing a diet for myself and for society. I understand that a proper diet is crucial for self-transformation and for the transformation of society.

In modern life, people think that their body belongs to them and they can do anything they want to it. When they make such a determination, the law supports them. This is one of the manifestations of individualism. But, according to the teachings of emptiness, non-self, and interbeing, your body is not yours alone. It also belongs to your ancestors, your parents, future generations, and all other living beings. Everything, even the trees and the clouds, has come together to bring about the presence of your body. Keeping your body healthy is the best way to express your gratitude to the whole cosmos, to all ancestors, and also not to betray future generations. You practice this precept for everyone. If you are healthy, everyone can benefit from it. When you are able to get out of the shell of your small self, you will see that you are interrelated to everyone and everything, that your every act is linked with the whole of humankind and the whole cosmos. To keep yourself healthy in body and mind is to be kind to all beings. The Fifth Precept is about health and healing.

Hanh, Thich Nhat (2007-03-06). Living Buddha, Living Christ 10th Anniversary Edition (Kindle Locations 1117-1122). Penguin Group. Kindle Edition.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Darcy Ferris said, on November 20, 2013 at 11:26 am

    WOW MT – love this, and though I don’t always abide well by it, I totally agree! Certainly keeping for reference. great piece.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers