Mark Tucker : Journal

Bridgett McGuire and children

Posted in Mothers and Children, WetPlate by marktucker on January 2, 2013

We shot this today. My neighbor, from my old house on Gilmore Avenue — Bridgett McGuire and two of her four children. We shot all four children, but I just can’t make it work together yet. I like this image as a standalone. This is Sadie and Jed, with Bridgett. 8×10 collodion on metal. Part of the ongoing Mother Project. Feels like echoes of Julia Margaret Cameron. I can remember bumping into Bridgett at 8th Avenue Kroger on the day she found out she was pregnant with Jed, (bottom right).

BridgettMasterB

Jed, top left. Dylan, top right. Carson, bottom left. Sadie, bottom right.

Jed, top left. Dylan, top right. Carson, bottom left. Sadie, bottom right.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tracy Wright Corvo (@TracyWCorvo) said, on January 2, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    This is just stunning! Totally feels like JMC. Thanks for sharing your beautiful images. I have been inspired my your work for years.

  2. jcsphotographs said, on January 2, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Nice!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Jack Lowe said, on January 2, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    …and a touch of Sally Mann too. Beautiful. JL

  4. David Reid said, on January 2, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    Beautiful image. Touch of Klimt in the entanglement!

  5. Michael Regnier said, on January 2, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    Really beautiful!! I can’t believe how prolific you are.

  6. Darcy said, on January 2, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    they all have such beautiful facial features!

  7. W Phillips said, on January 3, 2013 at 8:14 am

    I love these images. I want to learn how to make images like this. Wish I could find someone local to teach me.

  8. ginger lang said, on January 5, 2013 at 11:16 am

    Mark, this is strikingly beautiful. I find your imagery to be artistic and thought provoking and I am an enthusiastic follower.

  9. stephen simpson said, on January 5, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    wow – really beautiful, the work and the subject

  10. Andy said, on January 6, 2013 at 3:01 am

    I love Bridgetts eyes they draw you in

  11. Amy Deputy said, on January 10, 2013 at 7:20 am

    What a beautiful way to start my morning…stopping by your journal and yumming on photographs and your mother’s new perm.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers