Mark Tucker : Journal

Margaret and the Mini

Posted in Family by marktucker on December 25, 2012

I ordered my mother an iPad Mini for my mother as soon as they were announced. Her hearing is so far gone that I can no longer call her on the telephone. So that means, in order for me to check on her, I must drive an hour, to Bowling Green, Kentucky. My brother and I schemed on an iPhone, but in our exhaustive testing with her, the keyboard was too small for her hands. The Mini seemed just right.

When the Cable Guy first came to install her internet and router, she turned him away. I guess she forgot all the instructions I’d given her about the Installer. (Stage One early dementia). So that blew a few more weeks. A second Installer came, a week before Christmas, and we had backup plans so that she would not turn him away this time. So now, we have a wireless router/modem, and this iPad Mini that’s mounted on the table beside her BarcaLounger. We have the volume turned up to HIGH, and it beeps ten times when a Text Message comes in. I wish there was an “Elderly Mode” for that iPad, but someone else will have to invent that.

Below is a video that I shot last night, with my phone, at my brother’s house in the country. We all sat around and tried to teach her how to use the Text Message function on the iPad Mini. The text messages continue to flow in today, Christmas Day. They are hilarious.

I’m a bit shocked by the power of this technology connection. It gives me comfort to continue to get fragmented texts from her, but at least I know she’s OK.

There’s a fun part in the video too, where my brother pulls her up out of the chair and gets her to dance (before she’s trampled by my brother Robert’s boxer). She said she hadn’t been dancing in thirty years. Was a really nice Christmas…

Link to Vimeo (1:41 length)

Link to Vimeo (1:41 length)

textmaster

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. selina maitreya said, on December 25, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    How wonderful Mark….for you and your family…thanks for sharing these lovely moments….

  2. Jack Lowe said, on December 27, 2012 at 7:42 am

    Loved this, thank you for sharing it. The senior generation do so well in embracing modern technology — mind you it does help when Apple make it that little bit easier and nicer for them! JL

  3. Tim said, on December 27, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    This is wonderful, Mark!


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers