Mark Tucker : Journal

Lauren Simonutti

Posted in Artists, Interesting People by marktucker on November 14, 2012

Two images from “The Birthday Series”

I know very little about Lauren Simonutti. I’m just now beginning to read about her. All I know is that she had some type of mental illness, and that her photographs were strong, and that she seemed quite intelligent. She seemed to do all of her work in a very small area, in one room. She died this year.

Also, I just rewatched the Francesca Woodman documentary the other night, so all this is on my mind.

Link to Chapter One work from Edelman Gallery.

Link to Chapter Two work from Edelman Gallery.

And below, a video of Lauren, explaining her work.

Artist Talk with Lauren E. Simonutti (2010) from Catherine Edelman Gallery on Vimeo.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. geraldfigal said, on November 14, 2012 at 10:09 am

    I know quote a lot about her. Strange and interesting. I have one of her books. I think she is brilliant. Cheers, Gerald

  2. Jim said, on November 14, 2012 at 11:11 am

    Thanks for posting this. I have two of her books from years back, and have always been curious about her and her work. This video sheds some light…

  3. Melanie Dooley said, on August 16, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Thanks for recognising Lauren’s work in this way. I knew her personally and while I met her originally through her work, we became best friends. Her legacy is her work and I am happy to know people are still talking about it and being influenced by it.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers