Mark Tucker : Journal

Back to large plates

Posted in WetPlate by marktucker on October 22, 2012

We had a breakthrough today, in how we pour and dry and coat the large 24″x28″ black metal plates. Much more uniform pours now. A couple weeks ago, I purchased several vintage glass pieces to work with — today was this large green vintage clear globe thing. I brought down a bronze sculpture that Buddy Jackson gave me for my 50th birthday, and we paired them together, along with some brush from the back yard.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kay Denton said, on October 22, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    Awesome

  2. jcsphotographs said, on October 23, 2012 at 7:44 am

    Nice work, Mark.

  3. Anonymous said, on October 23, 2012 at 8:24 am

    Another beautiful piece! I love it.

  4. Barrie Watts said, on October 25, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Hi Mark, It’s been really interesting to follow your progress with the Wetplate Collodian. It encourages me to have a go. Mind you I’ve just got to grips with Platinum so I’m not sure I have the energy left at the moment to grapple with another new process. Do you use the Sinar as a projector to expose the plates ? I also wished I’d met Sean Mackenna before he died. I don’t live that far from him and I’m sure he had plenty of stories to tell.

    Great work from you as usual.

  5. Bryce said, on January 28, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    I’d love to know what your breakthrough was… I’m prepping to do some larger plates myself and I’d like to know what your tips for pouring would be. Thanks!


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers