Mark Tucker : Journal

New Large Plates: Jimmy Abegg

Posted in Interesting People, WetPlate by marktucker on June 14, 2012

Yesterday, we made three large plates of good friend Jimmy Abegg, here at my house with the homemade collodion camera. Three plates in three hours; not bad I guess. Thanks also to Samantha Angel for great assistance with the chemistry and the workflow. Everything about this process goes “against the rules” of how the real collodion guys do things, but we are learning as we go. Once you go up in size, and leave the traditional plexi compartment workflow, it all gets dicey. We had some silver issues; not sure why. We had some skimming issues; not sure why. Hopefully the varnish will cover over my mistakes. Below are the actual black aluminum metal plates, (24″x28″) that we load into the camera. Each one is a mono print; no negative, no copies (unless you rephotograph it).

Jimmy, in my back yard, as we were washing the plates.

Plate #3, probably my favorite. We called this one: “Scholarly Moroccan writer”.

Plate #2: We called this one “Amish Preacher”.

Plate #1: We called this one, (as we were laughing): “Dust Bowl preacher, 1945: “Damnit kids, I told you to git out of my yard, or I’m gonna go git my shotgun!”.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Isa Marcelli said, on June 14, 2012 at 9:18 am

    fantastic!

  2. Jonathan Canlas said, on June 14, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    ha! he is the uncle to my friend’s husband! ps, these are amazing, and you are my hero. ps, if you ever give a wet plate workshop, i’m THERE.

  3. Ingrid said, on June 16, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    I can’t help but be inspired..These are just beautiful. I agree..I am there too!

  4. Jody said, on June 23, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    these are just fabulous xxxx

  5. christopher said, on June 26, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Wow mark tucker! These are blow you out of the water kinds of images.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers