Mark Tucker : Journal

Scouting Trip: Radical Faeries, Liberty TN

Posted in Interesting People by marktucker on June 4, 2012

Long story, but I shot this image of this man in New Orleans a few months ago. Then, my cousin called me and said he knew the person, and he once lived in this commune of “radical faeries”, about an hour from Nashville. So I just had to go there, to see what it was all about.

Today, I drove there for their weekly open-to-the-public pot-luck dinner. I took some chicken salad, (and then freaked, on the way, thinking they were probably vegans). What I found, after driving deep into the boonies, and then down a long gravel road, was a nice farm with multiple buildings and dwellings. There was a main community building, and a community barn. Goats and chickens were on the land. Dogs lying on the sofa. They all pitched in for the weekly dinner.

Of course I want to photograph it, but after today, I think I want to photograph a much larger “gathering”, that happens twice a year there. Probably a couple hundred people. Today was just a gentle “entry trip”. I would say that when they saw the camera, they were a tad skeptical. But I will go back, and try to sink into the spirit of it. I think I had expectations of some type of “living Renaissance Festival” or something, with people flying from tree to tree, with translucent wings.

This was a dammed-up pool, or tub, made from a naturally-running spring.

A sweet dog lying on the sofa, on the front porch of the community building.

Some type of altar, in an awesome bamboo forest.

Rush hour gridlock, in front of the community building.

A tiled sistern, water source on the property.

Towels hanging on the fence, next to the spring pool.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yuval Dvir said, on June 4, 2012 at 12:58 am

    Great series of photos ! Thanks.

  2. Lisa Donovan said, on June 4, 2012 at 8:15 am

    I’ve always been curious about this. It look beautiful out there – lucky Faeries.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers