Mark Tucker : Journal

Starting new blog; side project

Posted in Interesting People, Personal, Random Image, The South by marktucker on February 17, 2011

Today, I made public the first stage of a new blog. This is an experiment to loosen up, to shoot with less gear, (to shoot with more Polaroid), and to connect more on a human level. And since I’ve been working out of town mostly in the last two years, it’s also an attempt to reconnect with the interesting people in my home of Nashville, Tennessee.

I haven’t added the stories yet in some of these posts, and some of the posts in the new blog were stolen from this blog, in order to show potential photo subjects what I wanted to do. So this blog might be a tad slow in the next few weeks, as I put all my attention into this new project, called MyDayWith.com.

Sample page below. Maybe, in time, this will evolve into a printed magazine or book.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. maxhirshfeldpictures said, on February 18, 2011 at 9:21 am

    extra very cool…especially the less gear, more truth part.
    do you know about magcloud?

  2. Tom said, on February 18, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Nice idea. I like the way you’ve superimposed the images onto background shots. The layout looks good. However, my $0.02 (which admittedly might be overvalued) is the whole thing cries out for some text to explain the images.

    The story behind these people doesn’t jump at you with the current format. The videos are nice (although I couldn’t get them to work via Firefox. I went to your site via Chrome and the videos worked fine) but it still leaves me wondering why I need to invest time getting to know these people. Obviously these are individuals who have made an impact on you. I think you need to help the reader understand why.

    I also wonder if a blog template is the best vehicle to present this sort of content. Some of the editorial templates that Roger Black has developed at Treesaver http://treesaver.net/ might be a better way to present this sort of concept. FWIW.

  3. marktucker said, on February 18, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Thank you, Tom. Will research. I’m just making it up as I go along… Agree about the stories; thanks for the kick in the pants.

  4. Angie said, on March 10, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    amazing portrait, the cat too. Regarding the above, I wonder if words might be distracting? Looking forward to seeing more!


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers