Mark Tucker : Journal

Deviled onions

Posted in Interesting People, Personal, Random Image, Weird Food by marktucker on February 9, 2011

I made a salad a few weeks ago. Cut an onion in half, and set the other half in the window sill. It stayed there for forever. It started changing. It started turning into a face. It started talking to me when I’d get up and make coffee in the morning. Funny how things will start to take on a life on their own. Two nights ago, I started photographing it; it was becoming human. Reminded me of that scene in Coen Brothers film with William Burroughs, with the typewriter, when things started coming alive.

I thought it was going to be part of a project that we’re all working on, but I don’t think it’ll make the cut. Even though I find the face pretty interesting. (Full retouching disclosure: it had the one ear, on its own, and I cloned it and made a second ear).

I shot this with this old funky Nikon f1.2 lens that I bought recently. I don’t even mount it on the camera — I just hold it up to the camera body, about a half inch away. It’s amazing how it still makes a picture, even though the lens is not even touching the camera. I just move the lens in and out, with my left hand, to focus it. Surprises me that it doesn’t flare more, since there’s light entering the mirror box all around the lens opening. Just move the lens around with your hand; your own homemade tilt lens.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alistair Kerr said, on February 10, 2011 at 11:47 am

    It’s life Jim, but not as we know it captain!

    This taking the lens off camera and improvising a tilt shift lens is taking off, I’ve got to have a play myself, love the shot, just cutting up onions for a Beef in black bean stir-fry…. Every things going in the pan, Mr Devil onion is a bit scary!

  2. Chris Wage said, on February 12, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Wasn’t that Naked Lunch?


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers