Mark Tucker : Journal

Window light.

Posted in Meditation, Random Image, Spirituality by marktucker on January 7, 2011

I have this candle that’s not really a candle. It’s really just an incense holder. The wax is soft, and you just can jam them down in there. It’s taken on this ritualistic voodoo quality now, with all the leftover wood sticks of burned incense. It’s sitting on a piece of scrap sheetrock, that I’ve so elegantly converted into a tabletop to hold a lamp.

Last night, I went to two art openings, and I think I got up today, inspired to work with a still life. Not sure this is really the final image, I think I’m going back up there and reshoot it. Reshot it.

ASA 6400, (my new love ASA), with the 45 tilt, stitched, wide open. ASA 100, with the 45 tilt, stitched, wide open.

And then, below, a portrait of a friend of a friend’s child, today. Pretty, soft window light, with the Mamiya contraption.

second try at it.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Favorite PhotoBlogs. Favorite PhotoBlogs said: Window light.: I have this candle that’s not really a candle. It’s really just an incense holder. It’s taken on this… http://goo.gl/fb/4hzEN […]

  2. kristian said, on January 10, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    I like that new version of the incense. It definitely seems more finished then the previous version. Also, thanks for making high ISOs look so good. It’s giving me ideas many ideas.

  3. Stefan Marquardt said, on January 13, 2011 at 4:45 am

    hi Mark,
    when you love pretty noise and that 1.9 mamiya you should try the mamiya ZD with this lens. shoot it at iso 200-400 and you get the prettiest noise (especially when done in RAW-Developer) in a nice 4:5 frame. Handy for times when you want to shoot outside – wide open – and still want that grainy noise.

    stefan

  4. 400 said, on January 16, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I’m starting to also like digital noise (“should I dare say “grain”?) quite a lot, specially in BW. Lovely lense too!


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers