Mark Tucker : Journal

Funky lenses.

Posted in Interesting People, Random Image, The South by marktucker on January 5, 2011

Was with some friends today, and shot some portraits in the little studio in my upstairs. Window light; was a cloudy grey day with not much punch. I love the idea of not being able to control the feeling of the light; you’ve got to shoot your stuff before the sun goes down, and if it’s sunny, you get pop, and if it’s grey, you get soft and blue. I’ve also been playing with this beat-to-hell Mamiya 645 lens, 80mm f1.9, that I found, and mounted onto this D3x. I found some strange adapter that let me mount the lens onto the Nikon. My new thing is playing with high ASA too, this is 3200. The higher you go, the prettier the noise gets. The old Mamiya lens does some nice things in the out of focus areas. I love how this has this accidental “Womens Prison, Topeka Kansas, 1945″ sort of feeling to it.

(Added later. Here is the mother of Topeka Kansas 1945. The sun went down, and I had to bring out the hot lights.):

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tim said, on January 5, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Nice, Mark. Question: what is the funky adapter that you’re using? I have a couple of Contax 645 lenses I’d love to use on my Nikon digi cameras, too, and it’d be great to find a similar adapter for the Contax lenses.

  2. Alistair Kerr said, on January 6, 2011 at 5:04 am

    ‘Youth offenders institute’ maybe…. It’s really lovely.

  3. marktucker said, on January 6, 2011 at 7:30 am

    Tim,

    http://tinyurl.com/23hb2df

  4. mary crow said, on January 6, 2011 at 9:55 am

    love working with the light that is there… these are beautiful… I love their eyes.

  5. Denzil J said, on January 6, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Great portraits. I would have never guessed those were at ISO 3200.

  6. Silver Birch Studio Photography said, on January 6, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Gorgeous stuff, that lens is really working for you.

  7. Cameron said, on January 6, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    I have the same lens……

    It is fantastic for portraits. I’ve been picking up old AI and AI-s lenses from KEH. The Fotodiox adapter works pretty well. I’m thinking about picking one up for a couple of fungus-fied old Hassy silver lenses.

  8. [...] claims to benefit from a 1-stop noise improvement. By the way, see what an artist does with ISO 3200 and 6400. __________________ prints | [...]

  9. Carlos Moreno said, on January 15, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Thanks for the URL to find the lens adapter.

  10. 400 said, on January 16, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Again, that lense you are using is just a miracle. congratulations on those impressive portraits!


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers