Mark Tucker : Journal

Cinematic noise.

Posted in Interesting People, Random Image by marktucker on January 1, 2011

Last night, Thomas urged me to crank up the ASA on my D3x up to 6400. We were all crammed into a room, watching a video, with only a tiny lamp on in the room. This is my newly-cobbled Mamiya 645 lens, mounted onto this D3x with some weird adapter, shot at 6400 wide open at 1.9. Love the noise, love the grain feeling. Feels like scene from a 70′s movie, just before the villain breaks through the back door. Brent and I were tag-team shooting, but I think (hope) I shot this frame.

Available darkness. Shoot, and just hope it's sharp. Click/enlarge.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tate Carlson said, on January 2, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    I’m like you…It was strange to crank up the ASA on my 5DMK2. I’ve had great results. And when I say “ASA” to new interns they look at me funny and don’t know what I’m talking about. Have a great New Year.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers