Mark Tucker : Journal

Homemade studio

Posted in Personal, Spirituality by marktucker on December 27, 2010

I’ve got the 4×5 itch again. There’s this incredible room in my new home — it’s never been clear what it is/was. Too small for a bedroom; maybe it was a study. Second floor. The light is absolutely stunning; faces west. This past weekend, I converted it as close as I could to a funky Paris daylight studio. Painted the walls dark dark grey, for no bounce; got rid of the ceiling fan. Mounted 2×4’s to hold any backdrop that seemed appropriate. Now, to find a Gowlandflex and some 4×5 Polaroid (and some great faces)…

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Terry Clark said, on December 27, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    There’s a beauty on ebay right now. A little pricy, but looks to be correct: http://cgi.ebay.com/GOWLANDFLEX-4X5TLR-210MM-LENS-PARALLAX-CORRECTION-/300507375278?pt=Film_Cameras&hash=item45f7a2a6ae#ht_500wt_1156

    Good luck on the polaroid!

  2. marktucker said, on December 27, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Yes, I”m watching that one. And yes, it’s pricey. Overpriced already, and days left. Thanks.

  3. John Vito said, on December 27, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Should be nice for Irving Penn like shots!

    I have a box of Polaroid Polacolor Pro 100…. just opened it to see what “PCPRO” meant. Expired 9/94 Also have a 50 sheet box of unopened Ektachrome dupe film 7121, type K expired 07/92 It’s yours if you like it. Just email me and I’ll send it out to you. I can pull a few Polaroids to see if it’s not dried out. Have other Pola I can test before sending it to you too.

    You know me from the old B+W print exchange and the old Rob Galbraith forums and I’m sure some of the other old web hangouts out there! After shoveling 30+ inches of snow all this morning I feel old!
    John V.

  4. Steve Burns said, on January 1, 2011 at 9:25 am

    Mark: Like John above I have two unopened boxes of 50 sheets of Kodak’s 4×5 E6 duping film that’s been frozen since I purchased it years ago. I sold my 4×5 last year, and would be more than happy to send it to you.

    I remember seeing some interesting work by Gregory Heisler using it.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers