Mark Tucker : Journal

Photo link: Eric Tabuchi

Posted in Interesting People, Photographs by marktucker on November 5, 2010

I saw this guy’s work featured today on Five Hundred PhotographersEric Tabuchi. I guess this touches on the OCD in me, but I love anyone who does series work like this. Check out Abandoned Gas Stations, Small Buildings, Roadside Flowers, Restricted Areas, Chinese Restaurants, and the best: Alphabet Trucks. Beautiful work, and I applaud his commitment and discipline.

PS. My friend Joerg just sent me this. I love it — another guy with OCD!

PSS. And from the Comments, here’s another related one, contributed by Tom Henkel.

Photographs by Eric Tabuchi. Copyrighted work. Screengrab from his site.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joe Reifer said, on November 5, 2010 at 9:59 am

    I’m also very interested in typologies. They’re conceptually and intuitively easy for people to understand. This trope touches something that harkens back to a child-like wonder. It’s a tough little genre to stand in the shadow of Bernd and Hilla Becher though.

    Brouws was influenced by Ruscha – his first book was an homage to 26 Gasoline Stations. The typologies in his book Readymades are really good, but the idea seems simple compared to his other work. Approaching Nowhere is an amazing, complex, beautiful book. Is working in typologies a one-trick pony? It’s an interesting question.

  2. Tom said, on November 5, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    You know I love all those subjects — small buildings, signs, abandoned gas stations, etc. But the thought of shooting them over and over isn’t that appealing (I guess I have a short attention span). Or maybe that means I just flunked the OCD entrance exam. Although the alphabet in trailers is brilliant — love that one.

    Along those same lines, have you ever checked out this blog?

    http://thingsorganizedneatly.tumblr.com/

  3. debschwedhelm said, on November 5, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    as someone who has a father with OCD and was married to someone with OCD (for 7 years), i so appreciate your post. i would say i suffer from perfectionism and a bit of moodiness versus OCD…but it’s definitely in my blood.

    thanks for sharing.
    deb

  4. marktucker said, on November 5, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Deb,

    My friend K came by the other night, on Halloween, and brought her daughter. She told her daughter to spread out her candy and see what she’d received. She did that, and I put them into a single-file straight line, on the carpet. Thank God I caught myself; we both laughed.

  5. Cameron Davidson said, on November 6, 2010 at 6:56 am

    Check out the wonderful Archabet book by Detroit Photographer Balthazar Korab. (Alex Korab’s father) It is a series of architecture alphabet postcards in B&W – wonderful little book.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers