Mark Tucker : Journal

Portrait of my neighbor, Mr Matthew Sherrill

Posted in Interesting People, Personal, Photographs, Random Image, The South by marktucker on October 28, 2010

I recently moved into a new home. Today, we started a new series of Testing portraits. My friend Buddy Jackson told me about a jewel of a fine man, who happens to live down the street from me. He’s 95 years old, still drives his big Lincoln to the grocery, and still has a strong singing voice. He likes blues songs, but prefers to sing church spirituals.

Mr. Matthew Sherrill, 95 years young.

In the video below, Mr. Sherill walked across the street, to ask his friend and neighbor Julie Lee, if she’d sing with him. They’ve been friends for a many years.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Olivier said, on October 28, 2010 at 1:59 am

    un tres beau portrait qui nous raconte la vie de cet homme. superbe

  2. thepeeryhouse said, on October 28, 2010 at 7:52 am

    wise words! what a testimony

  3. Sandy Campbell said, on October 28, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I agree what a wonderful man and what a penetrating gaze he has. So glad that you showed us a little bit of the richness of this mans full life. Keep searching for the gems among us! Good work Mark.

  4. Ted Mishima said, on October 28, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    Very nice… I bet he plays a mean game of golf too! I love the Ping hat… hahahaha

  5. Michael Morgan said, on October 28, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    This is the kind of portrait that leaves an impression. His face tells such a story and the photo leaves such an imprint of that moment. Very striking.

  6. Gus Marx said, on October 29, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    So inspirational Mark. Wonderful.

  7. Marseile Amadou said, on November 1, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Oh, how I’ve missed this. I’ve missed this voice, those similar eyes, in a man. Old soul, young heart – I’m so happy to see again and become reminded. Thank you.

  8. Marseile Amadou said, on November 1, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Ps. Did this man ever live in upstate New York?

  9. Gene Kelly said, on March 19, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    Mr. Sherrill is one of the finest people I have even know. My Dad used to make bread and I could never eat the two loaves that he gave me when I would visit. So I would give Mr. Sherrill a loaf. You would have thought I had given him a bar of gold. Its been a pleasure and a honor to know Mr. Sherrill….

  10. Kimberly said, on May 24, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    I am so proud to say that this wonderful man is my grandpa. I have learned so much about life from him.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers