Mark Tucker : Journal

Today: Attempted Meditation

Posted in Meditation, Personal, Spirituality by marktucker on August 11, 2010

First attempt at short-term meditation today. Shelby Park.

So I’ve been trying to work some sense of Spirituality into my life lately, (as long as it doesn’t involve the “J” word). Can you have a “G” without having a “J”…? Anyway, some dear friends have been nudging me to try meditation, so today, during my ride, I sat at Shelby Park on one of the “meditation benches”, which, prior to today, were always just regarded as park benches. I sat there, and focused on this one rock, across the pond, and tried to stay present for (maybe) five minutes, without those crazy little movies cranking up from the past. You know the movies, right? Just something you’re wondering about, or angsting about, or preoccupied with? The goal is just to sit there quietly, for five or ten or even fifteen minutes, and watch your breath, and try to stay present, in the moment, being aware of your body.

I will say it was pretty interesting. And much harder than it sounds. I just sat there, and began to notice the sounds I was hearing: crickets in the distance; children playing; ducks quacking; the breeze through the trees; the sun on my face; a car blowing by; etc. I sat there, aware of my body, (and aware of this recent chest cold, which I hope does not accelerate). I think I lasted maybe fifteen minutes. It was a nice start. My friend advised me to do it outside, in nature; not inside the apartment. I did that, got up, rode home, a little lighter and happier. I hope it continues.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pompo Bresciani said, on August 11, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Meditation with a camera? That sounds like cheating!:)

  2. Tamara said, on August 11, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I love this. So good. Your sense of humor is wonderful. Keep up the meditating and the wonderful photography.

  3. Kathy said, on August 11, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    I’ve been meditating for a long time, maybe seven years? The crazy little movies still happen. All the time. I used to think that getting rid of the movies and thoughts was the point. Going to the silence. After years of meditating it seems like the point is witnessing the movies, being present to the movies from your particular vantage of larger awareness. Good luck!

  4. Chris said, on August 13, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Starting Zen meditation was one of the best things I’ve ever done with my life. Hope it’s something that speaks to you.

  5. John M. said, on August 13, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Hi Mark. Love your work, blog and approach to life. Having been on a significant spiritual journey myself, no one can can embrace spirituality seriously with out considering J with an open and contrite heart. Ignore any preconceived ideas you have received through church and others. He’s waiting. You will not be disappointed. Regards.

  6. marktucker said, on August 13, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    NOTE: Thank you, everyone, who responded here in the Comments, and also in the numerous private emails. Honestly, I was very hesitant to post something like this, but given the honesty and the candid nature of many of the emails I’ve received, I’m certainly glad I did. I’m open to any tips you might have as well. Thank you. It’s an exciting discovery process that I’ve been on, in the last few weeks. – Mark Tucker

  7. KevinG said, on August 16, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Congratulations!

  8. rick olivier said, on August 31, 2010 at 9:52 am

    highly recommended: “Meditation For Life” by Martine Batchelor, photos by her husband, Stephen Batchelor, who is also one of the best authors on approaching Buddhism from ‘the west’….

    om mani padme hum ;-)

  9. Martin said, on December 10, 2010 at 4:53 am

    “Wherever you go, there you are”, by John Kabat-Zinn.

    100 people could push 100 different books on you, but well, eh…, there you go.


Comments turned off.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers